A Geek-tastic Wedding!

Whaaa!? She’s Back!

I know haven’t been around in quite sometime. I must say that planning a wedding, getting used to a job at a startup that grew at light speed, and dealing with depression and anxiety issues is quite the load to handle.

In my time away I got married, I got promoted, I gained friends, and I lost friends. Some family relationships fizzled out, but some new ones blossomed.

So where should I start?

Wedding?

Wedding sounds good. So, this is my opinion; you can agree to disagree if you would like, but the 1 1/2 years it took to plan the wedding – especially the last year – was an absolute nightmare. I would never do it again. Picking invitations; picking save the dates; picking a venue; picking a menu, where certain people should sit, what music should be played, what our song should be, what kind of cake, what should it look like… I could keep going, but I won’t. Some people think that all of that is absolutely fun. To me, unfortunately, it was not. And to top it off, I got pulled into my own bridal shower planning which that was a debacle in itself.

However, finally seeing it all come together on the day of, and how smoothly everything went and how nicely everything turned out, it was oddly satisfying.

So, where’s the geeky aspect to this? Well, I’m glad you asked. My husband and I decided that it wouldn’t have an actual theme, but it would be ode to our likes and favorite things altogether.

prorgramMy husband adores Mario and unfortunately our photographer did not get photos of these, but the way for people to find their seats were actually little Mario ? Boxes with the seat number inside. Actually, the boxes were these minus the candy. And who would have known that contacting the distributor of these lovely knick knacks, would actually mean you get a big discount than buying them at a store. We also found a Mario Star pinata and treasure chest that resembled one you would open in Super Mario 3, cut holes into them, and utilized them as our card holders.

To pay homage to my love for superheroes and comics (that has now rubbed off on my husband hardcore) one of my husband’s co-workers husband created a custom miniature comic to use as our wedding program. The inside was completely customized to our ceremony and all. Sorry that there’s not a better picture of it. As I’m writing this post, I’m noticing pictures I would’ve liked our photographer to take of things, haha. Also, we also had table numbers that reminded you of Clark Kent opening his shirt to reveal the “S” thanks to VanillaRetro over on Etsy.

cake-topperHowever, what I think takes the cake above each of these is the cake topper we had. Thanks to the awesome people over at Bobblegr.am they were able to create unique figures (technically just the head) of our likenesses and we were able to select a body to place them on. My husband’s favorite character is Captain America, so it was only fitting that he had the Captain America shirt. And me, well, I think it’s obvious who my favorite superhero is! Our cake was also somewhat comic themed with 8 action words you normally see within comics adorned on each of the tiers of the cake. We also made the tiers in red, yellow, blue, and green to symbolize some of our other favorites – like Iron Man & Hulk. Though the Bobblegr.am was a bit on the pricey side, it was a wonderful personal touch and it is a keepsake for the rest of our lives. It’s extremely solid and well created. I must say that it was money well spent.

Another little ode to a favorite of ours were our toasting glasses. We both love Game of Thrones and one day, shopping at this little multicultural store in Media, PA, we came across these beautiful gold-plated flutes. And the ornate design and intricacy of it just reminded both us of Westros and had the feel of royalty, houses, and kingdoms. I’ll let the picture speak for itself.

toasting-flutes

All in all, it was a wonderful day filled with joyous laughter, tears, and bright smiles. However, it went by in the blink of an eye due to not being able to really enjoy the day fully since we were playing host and hostess to our guests. If you have questions about anything you see here, are curious about where I looked for things, or just want wedding planning advise (even if its to vent!) please do not hesitate to contact me.

I’ll be back in a few to discuss more on the above topics.

Until next time, xo.

Leave a comment